A Leechy Affair

Its almost a year since my last trek (to Ooty) So I decided I should lug my big lazy ass off that comfy beanbag.Tarsh and co had arranged this trek to Madikeri (Talacauvery to be precise) last weekend.This time I had taken along a huge hugeee bag which weighed like a ton of bricks!! I have no clue what I put inside it..Just extra stuff for the rain you know.

— Extra t-shirt if it rained ..Another Extra t-shirt if it rained and the other extra tee gets wet too. (it ended up with 5 tees for 2 days out of which I just wore 2!) :D.

— Extra pair of chappals if it rained(This is always a must.Your feet will get sooper tired with shoes and all the torture you put your shoes through).

— Sunscreen lotion,Nice smellin Ponds powder (you never know if therez going to be place to take bath!)

— Night dress (I dont know why I thought I’d need it cuz What happens ususally is that You are so frigging tired you dont care if you are even wearing clothes and you just crash)

— Sleeping bag..

— Stuff to eat..the usuals.. Dates..Gum..Water etc .

Although Tarsh had warned in his mail to carry “snuff” powder and “strong smelling deodarant” to get rid of leeches, I did not pay heed to it.I just assumed that since mosquitoes were never that fond of my blood neither will Leeches. So anyways we reached Madikeri in the morning around 6am, freshened up, had breakfast and left for talacauvery which is like an hour from Madikeri.

See how I was made to be Luggage while going up there..sniff..cruelty 😉 ..

Just starting towards Talacauvery
By the time we got near talacauvery , got permission frm the Forest Officer and all that, and started our trek, it was 11:30 am.It started out beautifully.Breathtaking views, amazing weather and great company..I was breathing in so much, sucking in all that fresh cold air around me with so much intensity , that I thought soon Talacauvery will face severe oxygen shortage!

Check out the view!!

After walking through the first forest cover, I heard people talking about leech bites and since I had never set my eyes on one, I dint know what to expect and what it would feel like.And people were sayin, dont stop , just keep walking else they crawl up.So thats what I did..I dint dare to look down and almost RAN through like 2 kms until we came to some open space (The funda is that, leeches dont survive under the sun..so forest cover –> definite leeches but open space gives you some respite)..So anyways I finally dared to look at my feet and what I saw pretty much terrified the hell outta me.There stood my bloody legs, with some 5-6 already sucking the blood away to glory.Another 4-5 were making their way up my shoe to get to the site of the bloody orgy! And I couldnt bear to touch those disgustingly slimy and ugly looking creatures with my hands. So I had to resort to asking Tarsh to remove it the first time, then brave brave Flavia..then Joshua then Anybody who passed me had the honour of removing a leech from my legs! yeah I had that many and Much more..Thing is, you dont feel the leech bite..a slightly cold feeling on that spot but thats about it.They apparently inject some anasthetic before they “dissolve” your skin..So the first time, they had actually reached my thighs before I spotted them..Eww..and the disgustign way those slimy hogs fatten up after drinking your blood..Ugghh..And it makes quite a bloody messs..My socks were blood stained , mah tracks were blood stained, da shoes were blood stained..Eeeks..Sigh and you should knw the sight of blood does not in any remote way “calm” me..

(I hope you understand what a torturous experience it is ..just to write about them leeches..sniff..I was searchin for leech photos to psyche you ppl up, but just by seeing their photos, I started feeling something crawling up my body so had to ditch that attempt.)

So anyways, after that I was too psyched to actually look up and enjoy the fresh air, the green forest and the likes.I was staring at my shoes, trying to make out if any brown squiggly creature has landed on my shoes and flicking them off whenever I could.Ofcourse inspite of that they managed to suck more blood from my ankles..

After all this, I just ended up with a bad neck ache looking down and walking all the time and that tension in my head.I literally begged Tarsh for some OTHER means of transportation other than walking back the same way again the next day(along with a few others).So thankfully it was decided that 5 people will go by the jeep and the rest will walk back after dumping their backpacks in the jeep.Just the thought of NOT facing leeches the next day was enough to spur me through the rest of the journey and we reached our camp.

I realise most of this post is about leeches and my feelings about them but I cant help it.It really preoccupied my thoughts out there..

The next highlight of the trek was the stream next to the camp where we (Da Girls) decided to take bath the royal…princessy way.You know, pouring water Oh so gracefully over your arms and face and all that..It was such a delight.Splashing around in that cold clear water was just soooo refreshing that I forgot about the bloody war I had had with the leeches..It was with a very heavy heart that we got out of that heavenly stream but the others needed the bath too and it got prettty dark..I just crashed after devouring maggi( slurpp) and soup (Kudos to Shyamoly and team for that!!) .

The next day, I was dressed casually in my bathrooom slippers. I was so thrilled I dint have to wear my shoes and WALK back and face the slimy leeches.But as luck would have it, our jeeep stopped like 10 minutes into the jungle.Apparently the gauge was faulty so it showed full fuel but it was actually empty! We had to wait at that one place for almost 5 hours for the diesel.I refused to get out of that stufffy jeep for 3 of those 5 hours fearing another leech attack.But surprisingly, there werent as many leeches that day or maybe they decided to lie low till the LEECH magnet (aka ME) stepped on them..

So there we have it — Day 2 was uneventful on the leeech front..but I actuallly felt sad for missing out on the trek back  and absorbing all that “NATURE” into my veins….

Alrite now  that I realise How big and boring I’ve made this posttt, I would like to congratulate people who have managed to make it this far without dozing offf..;) Adios Amigoo…

4 responses to “A Leechy Affair

  1. Just happened to read this blog…yep almost say a year ago…guess that was the last trek I saw u in…ur article really took me down the memory lane…whatz missed out…was the jeep in which u guys were there ran out of fuel in the middle of the forest…n how we guys had to plan our way back to the base just trying to walk in pairs to get the fuel back to the jeep…if those leeches are one reason uve stoped ur treks…im telling u grl…ur missing out on a lot of things….yes they are painful n itchy…but in the end…it pays back…for instance..if it wasn’t for those leeches..this blog wouldn’t be here and the experience this memorable…hope to c u soon…

Leave a Reply

