I Dont Know What I Want!

I’ve been going through this major “Dilemma” in life..Whether to change my job or not. I got this damn good offer( I mean $$$$ wise)

So anyways, On one hand I’ve got technically Challenging, potential 6 day weeks, potential 12 hour days, potential BRAIN work , a potential Learning experience and bla bla bla bla..And on the OTHER hand I’ve got a Bindaas life where I can blog when i want to , chat when I want to, and still manage to “WORK” and give a good impression to Da Bosses… (Hmm Sounds like Paradise Doesnt It ๐Ÿ˜‰ ..and no I am not going to reveal my company’s name ๐Ÿ˜› ) Although I did feel the need for a “challenging” job which will MAKE me work ( I’ve always needed someone to TELL me to study threatening me with a stick .. right from my school days! ),My Evil-Lazy twin was slowly tugging at my sleeve at every point I thought about the other job . In the end,when my current boss gave me just a couple of “logically” convincing points ( I would like to believe I am “logical”) , I decided to stay put.. Evil-Lazy Twin Won !! I mean who doesnt want a nice,comfy job? I did want to work in a challenging place, but then (* consoling myself/ justifying my decision *) HOW creative can you get in this software industry anyways? And As my brother says, If I had wanted my JOB to get me to work , then I could have just become a COOLIE in a railway station!! Hmmmm..yup, that would have certainly gotten some work outta me.Just consoling myself(again) that IF i want ,I can “learn” something here too and If I cut out my “extra-curricular” activities, I can actually be efficient/productive/hardworking ๐Ÿ™‚ ! I am confused with my own self though, What is it that I want from life?? Just to be comfortable all my life or Will I ever want to RISK a change ? And How am I ever going to figure out what I WANT to do in life, if i remain a frog inside this well ??? Oh well, there’s always NEXT year …

Till date my list of priorities/routine runs something like this..

  1. Check Mail
  2. See If someonez online to chat with..and Chat with them
  3. Check “Official” Mail and Send Status reports with the necessary flowery words and state the same thing that I’ve been stating for 4 months now (Believe me, a Thesaurus comes in very handy..I’ve learnt to write – I am wrapping up this project – in 15 different ways!)
  4. Read Economic Times / Times Of India / The Hindu / CricInfo (GK / current affairs is beriii important ..need to get all that Gyan to discuss things on the lunch table ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
  5. Check out how many hits my blog got / GET ppl to go to my blog JUST to get more hits ๐Ÿ˜€
  6. Oh wait, Just remembered I was at work, So “work” for a while
  7. Lunch Time
  8. Repeat 1 – 5
  9. Time for Snacksss (Slurpp )
  10. Repeat 1 – 6
  11. Time to LEaVE

So There , I guess If I repeat #6 a few more times and cut out #1 , #2, #3 a few times , the company’s productivity will go up by 75% atleast ;).. They say Old Habits Die Hard but I am going to put this to test right from today…so If anyone sees me online, Please REMIND me about what I’m supposed to be doing.:D..Here’s to a “new” beginning or watever!!

PS : I feel compelled to say this ..Any sort of sarcastic comments that might come my way ( esp from Mr.SalyDUZ ) will not be accepted/”published” ๐Ÿ˜€

PPS : THIS is just a fictional piece of writing. The characters, incidents, dialogues and settings portrayed in it are products of the authorโ€™s imagination and are not to be construed as real. Any resemblance to actual events or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.
(Ahem! ๐Ÿ˜€ U never knoww when THIS might come in handyyy )

5 responses to “I Dont Know What I Want!

  1. Your dilemma is not an exception.I think most of us(software engineers) go through this phase most of the time.Your way of expression is simply remarkable and fundu:)

  2. lol.. about the job, do what makes you happy, cos job satisfaction is really important.. i’d rather be underpaid and happy than earning loads and miserable.. no wait! hehe, yeah, i really would!

  3. Great and fundoo indeed ๐Ÿ™‚ :)!! I know it’s difficult to work where temptations exist. But may be,for a few years we ought to be performing step #6 more often to have all the liberty of performing only #1 to #5 sometime later in life ๐Ÿ˜€ . As for jobs, all of them might boil down to the same. I think change is important . (please don’t get influenced again!! :D)

  4. Pingback: Mysteriously Muddled Moronic Megalomaniac » Blog Archive » We The Losers : Cyber Generation

Leave a Reply

